IPL 2023 Final: Jadeja’s death-over fireworks guide CSK to 5th IPL title

Toby Marshall
5 June 2023
Ravindra Jadeja

In a thrilling encounter, Ravindra Jadeja played a crucial role as Chennai Super Kings matched Mumbai Indians’ record for the most IPL titles. Earlier, Sai Sudharsan’s explosive knock of 96 off just 47 balls powered Gujarat Titans to a formidable total of 214/4. In response, Wriddhiman Saha contributed 54 off 39 deliveries, while Shubman Gill managed 39 off 20.

However, heavy rain interrupted the match during the first over of the CSK innings, leading to a temporary halt. After the rain delay, the match was reduced to 15 overs, and CSK’s target was revised to 171. The game resumed, and it turned into a gripping contest with momentum swinging back and forth.

CSK’s cause was aided by big hits from Conway, Rahane, and Dube, but Mohit Sharma proved instrumental in taking crucial wickets whenever the opposition seemed to gain an advantage. As the match came down to the wire, Mohit bowled the last over, leaving Chennai needing 10 runs from the final two balls. However, Ravindra Jadeja displayed his brilliance by smashing a six off the second last ball and a four off the last ball, securing a remarkable five-wicket victory for CSK and their fifth IPL title.

After being put into bat, the Gujarat Titans set a formidable total of 214/4 on the scoreboard. The opening pair of Wriddhiman Saha (54) and Shubman Gill (39) provided a solid foundation with a 67-run partnership in seven overs. Gill’s dismissal was a result of an exceptional moment from MS Dhoni, who swiftly whipped off the bails after Gill was beaten outside off stump by Ravindra Jadeja, leaving him short of the crease.

Sai Sudharsan then took centre stage and played a spectacular innings, smashing a brilliant 96 off just 47 balls. The left-hander’s knock included eight fours and six sixes, showcasing his aggressive batting prowess. Skipper Hardik Pandya also played a quick cameo, contributing an unbeaten 21 off 12 deliveries. Matheesha Pathirana stood out for the Super Kings, claiming two wickets during the Titans’ innings.

In pursuit of a revised target of 171 runs from 15 overs, Ruturaj Gaikwad and Devon Conway provided a blazing start for CSK. Gaikwad opened his account with a stylish square drive for four off Mohd. Shami. However, rain interrupted the game, resulting in a reduction in overs.

Upon resumption, Conway showcased his aggressive intent by lofting Hardik Pandya for a six over extra cover and finding the boundary with a whip to fine leg. CSK continued their attack on Rashid Khan, hitting a couple of fours and a six to reach 52/0 after four overs.

Noor made a significant breakthrough for the Gujarat Titans, dismissing Gaikwad to break the 74-run opening partnership. CSK then sent Shivam Dube as their Impact Player at No. 3. Noor struck again on the final ball of the over, claiming the wicket of Devon Conway.

Ajinkya Rahane entered the crease and made an immediate impact, smashing two exquisite sixes off Little to accumulate 16 runs in the over. Rahane continued his aggressive batting, hitting a couple of fours off Rashid Khan, reducing the equation to 60 runs needed off 30 balls.

Mohit Sharma struck early to dismiss Rahane, providing a crucial breakthrough for the Gujarat Titans. Dube found his rhythm and smashed two consecutive sixes, gathering 15 runs. Ambati Rayudu, playing his final IPL match, joined the aggressive display by hitting 6, 4, 6, but Mohit retaliated by taking Rayudu’s catch and dismissing MS Dhoni off the next ball.

With 13 runs required from the last over, Mohit showcased his experience by delivering four well-executed yorkers, conceding only three runs. The situation turned once again with 10 runs needed from two balls as Mohit missed his mark, allowing Jadeja to strike a six over long-on. With four runs needed from the final ball, Jadeja flicked the ball to fine leg for a four, securing a thrilling victory for CSK and igniting jubilant celebrations.

Author Toby Marshall